The interpretation of Life (I): Routine is dangerous?

I often read my friends’ Facebook. I like some of the things they shared that make me think carefully about life. Recently I read one quote, which I quite often come across nowadays:

“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine; it is lethal.”
― Paulo Coelho

I like Paulo’s Alchemist, but I don’t think I am agreeing with the quote. Why? First of all he put two things in opposite, adventure vs. routine. Imagine if we travel to a country, a village, we see normal living of people, it could be exotic because of a different place, a different culture, a different language, a different religion, or a different race, and these routine living of people add to the stories that we called adventure.

For me, there are some caveats in the quote by Paulo, i.e.,

1. It is often useful to think ‘We’ instead of ‘Me’. By differentiating often we want to emphasize superiority and inferiority, and often the case is ‘Me’ superior and ‘He/She’ inferior.

2. By emphasizing ‘We’, we appreciate that we are part of a society, a tiny molecule of the World, and everyone is part of our adventure, and ‘We’ are part of theirs as well. Isn’t that the way in learning of appreciation in life should be a part of our adventure, and an important journey in life?

Kee Chua
2014年6月14日于新加坡

3 Responses

  1. I like how you approached the subject🙂 Meaning is, after all, subjective. And, I have to compliment you for putting up so many cat pictures. Aren’t they just adorable🙂

    • Thanks, I hope the article that I have written does not seems to seek agreement but instead of awareness🙂. I love animals they are just adorable and so fun!

      • No no. It doesn’t. You are like a musician here lost in his song. We just happened to be lucky enough to pass by🙂

        Absolutely. Especially cats.

Leave a Reply

