The Cat and the Leader

My friend asked me, what lessons can a cat teach us in order to become a good leader? Allow me to tell the story from one of my mistakes. My younger sister brought a cat to our family sometime ago, and I tried to discipline the cat like a dog. As you can imagine, I failed squarely. This is not a lesson only about knowing the differences between cats and dogs, but to remind me although dogs’ obedient make us feel superior, nonetheless the pride and ego of the cat can thwart this sense of superiority. Ever since that I do not harass the cat to listen to me, she has been getting friendly with me, and occasionally trying to play with me. This opens my mind about the qualities of being a good leader is to accept and tolerate the diversity in characters, behaviors, and ideas of people, and furthermore to guide them in an appropriate way so that we reach farther and higher goals (in life) together. Do you agree? One more thing, dogs and cats can easily forgive people’s mistake and to love them again, so why can’t us human do the same?

//This discussion is related to the post https://riveroftheheartblog.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/senseless-quote-of-the-furry-world-photo-series-6/
//To tolerate and to forgive are not easy things to do, and I believe most of the people and including I feel the same. However, we should not resist to have incremental improvement for ourselves each and everyday in the hope that when we look back at the distance we have covered, it would be an important journey in life.

我的朋友问我猫和当领导有什么关系?这事要从我的错误说起。我妹妹养了一只猫,但是我却把牠当狗来教导。可想而知,我碰了一鼻子灰。这事不仅仅是告诉我猫和狗个性上的区别,更是告诉我纵然狗因为他的顺从而让我们觉得自己处在的优势,但是猫的高傲却彻底的践踏了我的这种心态。现在很多时候我都不去打扰那只猫,反而她和我更亲近了,也会主动靠近我和和我嬉戏。所以作为一个真正的领导人,心胸要比其他人更大更广,去包容和接纳不同人的个性、习惯和见解,并循循善诱的去引导其他人和自己走向更高远的(人生)目标。你同意吗?哦还有一点,狗和猫是那么容易的原谅了人的过错和从新去爱人,如果动物可以这样,何况我们人类呢?

祈泉书于10月16日2014年,新加坡。

//与此短文有关的我之前的贴子 https://riveroftheheartblog.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/senseless-quote-of-the-furry-world-photo-series-6/
//包容和原谅是不容易的,我不认为自己都能做得好,但是只要我们每天都给自己一点进步的空间,我相信有一天当我们回头一看时,会发现这是一段重要的人生旅程。

14 Responses

  1. True that cats and dogs can forgive others easily. To add more, children also forgive easily. After quarrel, they are back together again. This is a good eye opener for the adults.

    • It is true that children and animals can teach us a lot about care, love and forgiveness. Most of the time although we want to be an observer of the World but often only to see ourselves in the mirror.

      • For me, I dislike to be an observer. Most of the time, I love to participate in it. Maybe I am being a weirdo. Many people are finding me a weirdo. Though it is hurting, now I just don’t care.

      • I don’t think is weird. There are some who are observer but some who are participant, but even between observers there are differences. There are people like me often create another me to observe myself. So effectively we are becoming both a participant and an observer. Especially when we discover that our children become like a mirror to our own behavior, this is what I meant by the world is a mirror to our actions.

      • I see. Even after participate, I also observe and reflect my life. True. I never expect I become like a mirror to my parents.

  2. 无限感慨啊!
    狗有非常忠诚的天性,让我们轻易成为它的主人。
    猫有非常ego的天性!我们就“必须”成为好的领导人,才可与它接近。

    反观我们人。我们都有不同程度的忠诚及ego的个性。
    要成为一位好的领导者,
    一,必须有德又有贤,让别人对我们心服口服,忠于我们的团队。
    二,必须心胸开阔,放下我们的ego,尝试站在别人的角度看事情,接纳团队里不同的声音、意见、立场,尊重每个人做事情的作风。

    喜欢狗的人,如我,也许心深处特别欣赏忠诚的个性。
    而我又不喜欢猫,因为心深处不喜欢自己的骄傲、ego及执着。

  3. 我们人比较不容易原谅别人,也许是因为执着。
    倘若我们身边有善知识,对我们循循善诱,我们是可以放下的。
    频率相同的人,比较容易沟通。
    合得来,比较谈得来的家人或朋友,就是频率比较相近的人。
    人类善于学习,是可以被教育的。

  4. 如果可以将心比心,我们比较容易包容及原谅别人。

    • 你的见解全中我想要说的。狗不能给人当一个全面的领导因为人要狗听令于人。反之,猫不接受这一套号令,所以我们必须有更多的耐心和去了解猫。更深一层,控制这一套只会给人带来慵懒,用心理解才能使我们的更能获得智慧。 我其实以为自己理解,知道对付猫儿才知道我没有融会贯通。我觉得现在也没有,这是一门学问。

  5. 我个人的意见及立场 =) :

    该成为观众的时候,我愿成为一位好观众。
    该下场参与的时候,我会很投入的参与。
    我们应该常常反问自己,此刻我的角色,应该是观众,还是参与者。

    • 我觉得更多时候是我们是演员和观众同时进行,有时我们演的同时,也抽离自己,观察自己演的哪里好与不好,学习别人的表情演技,和其他观众讨论角色的好坏潜能或局限性。

      • 我得再思索、消化你以上说讲!

      • 我觉得我还不满意自己的解释,你也让我想想。

  6. =)

Leave a Reply

