The interpretation of Life (II): A big dream and a routine life

I quit my job as a researcher a couple of months ago. It was my passion to be a scientist, to understand the nature, and to discover a whole new world. The burning flame of this passion is subsiding now, because everyday I am reading news about how human has transformed our world with the technology in worst unimaginable ways. Science and technology has certainly ‘improved’ our life with some conveniences, such as how you can see my writing from another corner of the world in an instant. We are enjoying our lives at the expenses of our future generations and other living things on this planet.

I loved the story of the book ‘Jonathan Livingstone Seagull’. It is about a seagull who dreams to become better in flying with wings rather than just to use the seagull’s wings for finding food in a routine life. The mentioned seagull wants to learn something different each and everyday. It is a story about pursuing a dream with our heart. Is not this a reflection of my life? When I look back to the history of mankind since the industrial revolution, I realise a little bit more about the world around us. The dream we dream, is not an individual dream, or is isolated. Our dreams are always linked with the world through someone or something in a vast invincible networks that we do not perceive.

This world is so complicated with the networks that we can see, but also those that we cannot see. The scientists or others might have their own big dreams to understand the world around us, but eventually these understandings will be translated into technology to help us in our routine life in gaining more wealth by exploring the resources of this planet, or to manipulate the world around us. We simply reduce the meaning of happiness into a simple equation by mixing it with hunger for power, fame and wealth. So what should I do in life? My decision of quitting my job may not cause a ripple in this world, but I wish it is the first step of my journey to seek the happiness for myself, and may be for the world. I want to be in the part of a routine cycle for an extraordinary life for love, that is how much we have taken from this world, give it back to this world and to our future generations, including our love and happiness.

Kee Chua

2015年10月20日于新加坡

Read other post:
The interpretation of Life (I): Routine is dangerous?

7 Responses

  1. 除了加油,还有祝福!
    我深信,只要还活著,明天一定更好!

  2. Kee ,its good to vent out what troubles inside. And sometimes a just a fire is needed to move on with zeal. Check this venture here.you might feel energized with the new endeavour. I would love to have your work there. https://revolutionarypensblog.wordpress.com/

  3. Dear Qiquan,

    How could I explain how well I understand you? Your feelings, experiences and decisions parallel those of mine a year or two ago. I left academic life out of disgust with it, and also because I wanted to spend my days making a difference in how we relate to Nature. The road isn’t easy though. I am still bumping and adapting. I still miss the sense of adventure in basic science, but I enjoy contributing my time for a better future for coming generations.

    All the best,

    Marcus

    • Wow, this is the first time I come across a person with similar experience and sharing similar thoughts! My family and my friends were very surprise that I have quit something I have been pursuing almost my whole life. I am also still adapting post-research life, and establishing a business (photography, my another passion). The most important impact to my life after quitting is that I do not have to bring my internal conflict to work anymore. I also wish both of us will be able to make it in our living and to help World in a better way.

      Thanks Marcus!

      • I understand that family and friends were surprised, but it is more important for you to be truthful to yourself, than fulfilling the expectations of others. Hopefully they will realize this. All the best!

      • Yes, you are certainly right, and this is exactly the path I am taking, being truthful to myself!

      • Best of luck in that path!

Leave a Reply

